Prep Time!

Posted: September 15, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

BabySome of you reading this may know, but others may not, that I am in the final stages of preparing to be a dad.  We are getting close to the time where God is going to both bless us and challenge our sleeping patterns.  As many of you know, you cannot simply be “ready” for a baby.  There is a lot of preparation that must take place.  Beds, clothes, towels, blankets, sheets, carriers, diapers, and oh so much more have to be gathered, organized, and in their place before the baby comes.  Or at least that is the general consensus at my house.

I can understand that.  And it is not an uncommon thing.  There is even a name for it: nesting.  It is the referencing of a bird preparing their nest to lay the eggs that will hatch and be young birds.  There seems to be, within women (and men I would say), a time where they can sense it getting closer.  I have felt this.  I want to make sure and have all of the baby equipment out of the boxes and functioning properly even though I know it won’t be used for the first few months.  That means, put together, batteries in, and stuffed animal placed where baby should go so I can make sure and know the ends and outs of these mechanical baby soothers.  I want to know how the belts fasten and then be timed at how quick I can get a stuffed hippo in and out of the car seat.

We are currently 3 weeks out from the due date.  Yes, I know that only 5% of babies actually come on their due date, but it’s getting close.  We are in crunch time.  He could come at any moment!

In all of my preparation I was reminded today that while I am preparing a place for Jonah to enter this world, my heavenly Father is preparing a place for me to enter His world.  While I do hope that He is not in the full nesting mode, I am encouraged that I am being planned for.  You do not prepare for something that you do not expect.

Therefore, just as Jesus was talking to his disciples in John 14:2-3 saying, “In my Father’s house are many rooms.  If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you?  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also,” he is talking to us now.

It is comforting to know that I am expected and that I am being waited for.  Instead of being this obscure person that few even think about, I am dwelled upon by the Creator of the universe.  He cares enough to prepare a place for me.  And I must remember this, just as Jonah could come at any moment, so could Jesus.

He will not continually prepare for me, just as I will not continually prepare for Jonah.  There will be a day when preparation ceases and life together starts.  I am looking forward to both of those times.

Please understand and rest in the fact that as a child of God, you are being thought about right now.  God is preparing for you.  You are not forgotten.  He has a future plan that goes far beyond what this earth can bring.

In Christ’s Love,
Josh

Leave a Reply

