Short Bus Insights-“My Mom Is Home”

Posted: January 30, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

School Bus 6

 

 

There is one student that rides my bus that has yet to be dropped off at his actual home.  I have never taken him to his house at the end of the Pre-K day.  However, most days of the week he gives me a line, “My mom is home.”

See, he gets dropped off at another student’s house that lives next door, but almost every day he has the anticipation of being dropped off at his house, with his mom waiting there to hear about his school day.  I cannot tell you the disappointment he has when he looks at his house as we pass by and pull into the neighbor’s driveway and he realizes that his mom is not actually home.  In fact, this happened yesterday.  He watched eagerly out the window and searched the yard and driveway for a familiar vehicle and found none.  He looked up at me in the rearview mirror with a pouty face and said, “My mom’s not home.”

What is it about home?  About family that young kids connect with so much?

This same student shares a song with us all on the bus some days.  It goes to the tune of Frere Jacques:

Meme and Pawpaw
Meme and Pawpaw
We love them
They love us
Let’s go to their house
And eat lots of food
Let’s go now
Let’s go now

No, I am not kidding.  That song is, I am afraid, permanently burned into my song memory bank; that’s how often he sings it.

It is good to hear that he has a love for his Meme and Pawpaw; and as the song goes, they love him too.  But again, what is it about family and home that younger kids connect with so much?

Of course I have a few thoughts, thanks for asking.

First, I believe it has to do with being able to be yourself.  Your family usually knows if you are a messy person, a neat freak, or somewhere in between.  And often you have a place that is your own.  The first true ownership.  My bed, my room, my corner, whatever it may be.  There you are able to let go of the reins and be relaxed.  You take comfort in being able to be comfortable.  It is often this same truth that brings many to Christ.  He does not ask you to change.  He meets you as you are and you change as a result of meeting him.  Romans 5:8 “But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”  Christ came for the sick.  He came for the needy.  He came for the sinners, of which we all are.

Secondly, there is always the anticipation of home.  After traveling, it is nice to sleep in your own bed, use your own shower, go to your own couch where you can watch your own shows on your own television.  AS Christians, do we anticipate our home?  Do we look forward to the home where we will dwell with God?  Like a child yearns to find his mom at home waiting on him, do we have that same yearning for the Father to welcome us and accept us as faithful followers?  Do we want to tell him about our day?  Do we look forward to meeting with him?  John 14:23 “Jesus answered him, “If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.” 

I urge you to look forward to going home.  Have the desire to see your Father waiting there with open arms, maybe even running to you.  He will have a feast waiting for you and you can “eat lots of food” as the song above goes.

Hebrews 11:16 “But as it is, they desire a better country, that is, a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared for them a city.”

In Christ’s Love,
Josh

Leave a Reply

