School Bus 6

 

 

 

 

 

 

I asked my Pre-K bus riders what they were thankful for yesterday.  I had a couple different replies.  One said his pawpaw and the other two went with cake and cupcakes.

I thought to myself, at least one of them knew what I was talking about.  Thanksgiving is about being thankful for the big stuff like family, a house, food on the table, and jobs.

I had laughed off the cake and cupcakes as genuine things to be thankful for.

However, after dropping all of my riders off I have about a 15 minute drive back to the school.  I thought about why those two would even say cake and cupcakes.

I came to this profound and earth shattering conclusion: because they were truly thankful for cake and cupcakes.

Adults and youth make thanksgiving complicated.  Thanksgiving means cooking for a whole day or two (maybe more) for one meal…and leftovers, cleaning the house for company, and gathering a plan of attack for the massive day of pandemonium that is Black Friday.  It means sitting down and watching a couple of football games.  Gail, my wife, recently asked her 2nd grade class to tell her about Thanksgiving.  Their reply was all about the food: “There will be turkey, and family comes over, and sometimes ham.”

Thanksgiving has taken on the meaning of being too busy to be thankful.

A tradition that my wife and I both had in our homes growing up was right before or during the Thanksgiving meal, we would go around the table and say something we were thankful for.  Growing up I thought everyone did this.  As I have experienced the world, it surprises me to find that many have never even heard of doing such a thing.  As we went around the table, I usually knew what I would say; something about family, a house, or food.  I mean, I had to be thankful for the big stuff…the good stuff.  I couldn’t let my sister outdo me and say something she was thankful for that trumped mine. (Yes, I realize now this was a bad attitude to have.)

I really would try and outdo others in my thankfulness.  How dumb is that?  How ungrateful is that?

Mathew 18:3 “Truly I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” ESV

We are told to have childlike faith.  A faith that believes the seemingly unbelievable.  But what if this Thanksgiving, we had the thankfulness like a child?  What if when we went around the table to say what we were thankful for, we did so out of a grateful heart, not a prideful or arrogant heart?  What if we were thankful for the fact that we did not “earn” what we have but were given what we do not deserve?

2 Corinthians 9:15 “Thanks be to God for his inexpressible gift!” ESV

I am thankful for grace.  A grace that covers me even when I am outdoing others in my thankfulness.  A grace that covers all sin.  A grace that came only through Jesus Christ.

If you do not go around the table, I encourage you to try a new tradition this year.  Help keep the thankfulness in Thanksgiving.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”ESV

Leave a Reply

