Homosexuality and the Bible

Posted: September 4, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Homosexuality is a popular subject these days.  It is also becoming more of an accepted idea worldwide with laws for same-sex marriage and adoption.  It is very probable that you know at least one person that is a professing homosexual.  If you are like most, you recognize this but rarely does it come up in conversation.  You may even turn a blind eye toward it.  This is a topic that we recently discussed in Sunday School with youth and I wanted to share it with you.

To tackle this biblically we must understand it first.  There are many homosexuals that believe they are born desiring the same sex.  That they do not have a choice in the matter; that it is almost mandatory for them.  And there are many that encourage this thinking.  There are also some that are turned to this lifestyle because of acceptance issues.  There are still some that believe because they are not, “manly enough” or “lady like” then by default they must be homosexual.  My goal in all of this is to show that it is a choice.  And the Bible does speak to this issue clearly.

First, we must separate the sin from the sinner, and yes homosexuality is a sin.

1 Corinthians 6:9-11 “Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God?  Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God.  And that is what some of you were.  But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.”

Here Paul lists off some sins that keep people from inheriting the kingdom of God.  Among them he names homosexuality as well as greed, slander, and idolatry.  See, this is where the majority of the problem lies.  As people we view sin through our own eyes and believe that some sin is greater than others.  When in fact, any sin separates us from the kingdom of God.  There cannot be sin or sinful people in the perfect and holy kingdom of God.

We must remember the true definition of sin.  1 John 3:4 “Everyone who sins breaks the law; in fact, sin is lawlessness.”  Sin is disobedience to what God has deemed pure, right, and holy.  Therefore, in his eyes homosexuality is just as wrong, impure, and unholy as greed, jealousy, and envy are also.  So, as Christians, we do not need to put homosexuality on a large pedestal of unrighteousness that towers above all else.  It does belong in the category of sin, but as equal with all other sin.  As the verse above indicates, sanctification and justification can come to all who are washed in the blood of Christ.  It is not a permanent place, sin, but one that only Jesus can pull us from.

Secondly, we must look at the person.  Instead of viewing homosexuality as mandatory or a born-into idea, with the knowledge that it is in fact sin, we must simply look at it as a temptation.  I do not want to over simply this heavy issue, but this is what I believe is biblical.  Homosexuality is nothing more than a temptation or sin that needs to be resisted.  Luckily, the Bible does tell us that we have the power to resist it.

James 4:7 “Submit yourselves, then, to God.  Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.”

This resistance is certainly not a one-time resistance, but a continual resistance when the temptation arises.  It can be easily compared to someone that has an anger issue.  Anger toward another, if not for the glory of the Father, is also a sin.  When one feels anger building up inside of them, they must find a way, through the aid of the Holy Spirit, to repress the urge to have an outburst against someone.  So too, when someone feels lust for someone else, be it same-sex or not, they must repress that feeling because God has deemed it as unholy and not of Him.

Jesus experienced temptation.  He also overcame it as well.  He knew temptation greater than any of us ever will because he never gave in to temptation which ultimately required him to feel the full effects of the temptation.  Too often we do not go so far to feel temptation’s complete sting because we give in before it flees from us.

No doubt you have heard the saying, “hate the sin, not the sinner.”

Romans 12:9-10 “Love must be sincere.  Hate what is evil; cling to what is good.  Be devoted to one another in brotherly love.  Honor one another above yourselves.”

This verse shows this idea that we are to “hate what is evil,” sin, and “cling to what is good,” God and his perfect creation.  Sin has tainted the perfection that God created.  We are not called to accept the act of homosexuality; however, we are called to except the person that is struggling with this sin.  We are not called to hate homosexuals, but show them the love of Christ and direct them to the kingdom of God.

Now, there is an issue that few are talking about.  Homosexuals and church.  There is always a desire to bring people into the Body of Christ to experience true fellowship.  However, practicing homosexuals should not be allowed to become members of a church.  Before you say anything, neither should practicing liars, cheats, idolaters, and adulterers.  There must first be an acceptance of the new creation that we are in Christ.  A turning away from our old self and putting on the cloak of righteousness of our new self.  It goes without saying that sin and temptation will continually be at our doorsteps and that we will fall into those traps.  Excommunication from the church would not be the best reaction to this.  If so, there would be no one left in any church.

Acceptance of people is a must, acceptance of sin is an atrocity.

I hope that if you are entrusted with the responsibility of knowing someone who is stuck in the sin of homosexuality, that you will not turn a blind eye to the situation, but you will see it as necessary to love them and show them the truth that is Jesus.  One that requires us to die to ourselves, give our desires to him, and accept the gift of salvation and the Lordship of Christ Jesus over our lives.

In Christ’s Love,

Josh

Comments
  1. adoreabhijit says:

    I sincerely thank you for being so kind and concerned. But I would like to ask if you personally know any gay person. If you do, have you ever discussed with them how it feels for them to be gay? Have you, without prejudice, given thought how life would be from a gay persons point of view. If not, I implore you to do that.
    I cannot and shall not speak for all gay people in the world. They are all as different as humans are. But I can speak for myself. I am gay. And I know this because just like any boy grows through puberty having feelings for the opposite sex, I grew up having them for the same sex. I don’t know whether I was born this way or whether there were any environmental factors. But I know that I have a loving family and never was abused. I don’t feel it mandatory to be with another guy. If ever I do fall in love with a girl, I shall never deny my feelings. But that hasn’t happened till now.
    I also know the difference between friendship and love. My best friend is a guy, and I don’t have any physical attraction to him, he’s straight. We are inseparable and closely bonded, the friendship I share with him is the most wonderful relation I have and I don’t believe I can have such a relation with anyone else. I also have straight friends whom I like more than in a ‘brotherly’ way, but have never crossed the boundaries of indecency with them, and share a healthy relation with them.
    I am not an extrovert, I am quite shy and silent. I don’t enjoy being the centre of attention. I would never go out of my way to declare something that could bring me and my close ones in the line of fire. Yet I came out to everyone as gay. Not to gain attention or sympathy, but simply because I want everyone to see what a gay person is like before they start hating them. So that before assuming they can ask.
    Before accepting myself as gay, I went through a lot of researches to find out why I was different from others. I searched for ways to cure myself. All the theories and concepts of what made me gay, I made myself. I blamed my family, myself and everyone. It took 8 years for me too be content with how I was. I broke myself, I shamed myself. But no one can do that to me anymore. Because I am finally free of the bonds of sexuality. I have accepted it and am free now. Now my family, friends and career are more important to me. But also in the meanwhile I want this world to be safer and more comfortable for some other kid who will be faced with the same situation as mine.
    Sir, I am not a Christian. But I have faith in Religion. I deeply respect Jesus and the Bible. I believe that God never forsakes any child of His for the wrong he hasn’t done. My feelings and emotions are of love only, and love I believe is what He said to have for all and give to all. I cannot do that if I have to spend my whole life believing that my ‘love’ is wrong.
    Please, for once, put aside all the prejudice and conceptions for gays you have and meet some of them, talk to them, listen to what they have to say with an open heart…..

    • mtnmovers says:

      I certainly appreciate your openness about all of this and I do want you to know that I have had many discussions with homosexuals. I certainly do not believe that homosexuality is a disease or something that should be cured but something that should be resisted. I am not a Religious person. I do not go to church, sing hymns, and worship God because that is what I am “supposed” to do, but I do it because of Jesus. When Jesus Christ sacrificed himself on my behalf, and the behalf of all people, I cannot respond any other way except through worship. He deserves my love and worship and to be Lord over my life.

      I too want the world to be united in peace. Jesus is what will unite us all. Acceptance and tolerance will never be uniting but a God of love, compassion, and justice will. I do not believe Jesus to be simply a man to be respected, but God in the flesh.

      I truly am sorry for you having to go through the pains of your sexuality. I do pray that you will not be satisfied with acceptance and freedom while still on earth because it only lasts for a short time. When you commit wholly to Jesus, you will have freedom that will last for eternity. Please do not let your reward be given on earth but in heaven. It is truly better to suffer emotional and physical pain on earth than eternal separation from God. I am not saying that being a homosexual sends you to hell. But if Jesus is not Lord of your life and controller of all things and you put him second or third or 50th in your life…well, he does not deserve that.

      Again, thank you for replying to the post in a respectful manner.

  2. watusernamenottaken says:

    I am really sorry to know that you do not go to church or any such pious places. I suggest you should start doing so now cause it will give you a better knowledge about many things including sexuality .it sad to see the hypocrisy or ignorance as one may call it regarding homosexuals’ suggest you go through your bible once(the uncensored) and also read about the Hindu religious scriptures .even scientific journals will give you much insight regarding this topic. homosexuality existed since ancient times and once you read the books I said about you will know that how little concept or no concept you have about this topic. do you resist being male? do you resist having relation physical,mental,emotional with your partner than y should homosexuals resist? in a way my friend you are questioning the very creation of god (in ur case Jesus). we enact as god wants us to whether we want or not. Remember god creates everything for a purpose and a god loving person should consider it as sin to question the almighty’s creation.

Leave a Reply

