Scar(s)

Posted: August 2, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Scars.  Most people have them.  And most come from accidents rather than major disasters.  For me, I have a couple of small scars around my lips.  One from going head first over a bicycle and landing by kissing a parking lot and the other from an elbow during basketball practice sending a tooth through…yes through, my bottom lip.  Another couple scars are around my shin and knee where I fell off a walkway and scrapped by shin badly and the other by throwing a Frisbee and running into a cut off tetherball pole with my knee.  These scars are reminders of past experiences.  They are also warnings for future happenings.  When I ride my bike on concrete now, I do not try and jump off steps, because I know what the result will be.

God gives us scars in our lives.  See, when we first receive the scar it hurts.  We may feel as though the hurting will not stop, but it does.  The pain does wear away.  The physical pain fades but at times the internal pain remains.  In life we may have our own plans.  We may be able to map out the next 10-50 years of our lives, but we can be so glued to this plan that when God points us in another direction, a scar is left.

When we come to the realization that our plans are not going to come to fruition, it can be painful.  Especially if you are like a lot of Christians when they believe their plan is God’s plan or that they have figured out God’s plan.  At this point, it can be even harder to handle.  The scar can be deep and permanent.  But we must remember that God is in control.

Deuteronomy 32:3-4 “I will proclaim the name of the Lord.  Oh praise the greatness of our God!  He is the Rock, his works are perfect, and all his ways are just.  A faithful God who does no wrong, upright and just is he.”

When we make an effort to run our own lives we will fail.  Because, unlike God, our works are not perfect, all our ways are not just, and we do wrong…often.  But when we trust in God, because of his faithfulness, he is our Rock.  He is immoveable and right in his ways.  If we run full speed at an immoveable rock and expect the rock to crumble before us, we will certainly be left with scars.  But it is my hope that we would learn from these scars.  That through them we can rely on God and are reminded of his perfect works and just ways.

Growing up, my dad always took pride in my scars or injuries.  Every bruise, scratch, scrape, or scar would be followed by, “That looks awesome!  I can’t wait till it turns green!”  Through this a pride built on how tough I was that I was able to withstand these injuries.  The same is true spiritually.  God has provided us the opportunity to toughen our skin.  Allow us to not run into situations blindly, but seek God’s guidance.

The next time you look at a scar that you might have, I pray that you are reminded of the spiritual scars you have.  Not to diminish you to nothing, but to exalt the greatness of God.  Be prideful of God.  Wear your scars proudly and talk about them so others can see they are not alone.

Leave a Reply

