The Desire for Spiritual Maturity

Posted: July 26, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Tomorrow I set off with some students to summer camp.  The students I will be taking are all professing Christians and fairly active in the church.  My prayer is that they will grow closer to their God and Savior.  That they will be renewed before school starts to be bold in their sharing and in their beliefs.  In Hebrews the author speaks on maturing as a Christian. “Anyone who lives on milk, being still an infant, is not acquainted with the teaching about righteousness.  But solid food is for the mature, who by constant use have trained themselves to distinguish good from evil.” Hebrews 5:13-14  I pray that they begin to grow in the spiritual self.  I more pray that they have a desire to know God more.

Without the desire to know Him, one will not get much out of church.  Church, camp, youth, are all tools that the Holy Spirit uses for us to grow into a mature understanding of God and His will for our lives.  Desire cannot be taught, shared, or given.  It must come from within the person.  I pray that these next few days will awaken a desire inside each student and inside myself as well.  For I am not fully mature until I reach the Throne.

Please pray with me.

In Christ’s Love,

Josh

Leave a Reply

